

## Meeting Minutes Sons of the American Revolution – Omaha Chapter

## 11 Feb 2020

The Omaha Chapter of the Sons of the American Revolution met at Gorat's Steakhouse on 11 Feb 2020. Members and guests attending: Jim Sly, Mel Burright, John Parsons, William webb (Georgia), Hugh Nels (Kathy), Ben Harvey, Christopher Peterson, Scott Peterson, Paul Burright (Paula), John Reinert, Bob Knott, Fred Walden (Jan), Tom Upton (Jane), John Whittler, Steve Bigelow, and David Kentsmith (Kitty). Guests included Dr. Wayne Stuberg (Rhoda).

President-elect Ben Harvey opened the meeting at 1900 hours.

All stood and repeated the Pledge of Allegiance. Members remained standing and repeated the Pledge to the SAR. The members introduced guests in attendance.

The minutes of the 14 Jan 2020 meeting were accepted by member vote.

Officers Reports:

- Treasurer, John Parsons No change to the treasury amounts.
- Registrar, Paul Burright 6 apps in preparation, 1 Supplemental approved for Chapter, 4 apps pended.

Old Business:

• N/A.

New Business:

- Paul Burright and Ben Harvey Installed New Members Scot Peterson and Chris Peterson and mustered in their patriot ancestor, James Emmons.
- Paul Burright and Ben Harvey mustered in Bob Knott's newest approved supplemental patriot ancestor, Jacob Dormer.
- Ben Harvey notified the chapter that Omaha Chapter member Charles Reynolds passed away on 15 Jan 2020.
- John Parsons notified the membership that ROTC Medal presentations are fast approaching. Volunteers are needed for presentations at 12 high schools and 2 universities. More information and sign-ups will begin at the March meeting.
- Dr Wayne Stuberg provided a brief history and update on renovations to the Storz Mansion.

The next meeting is scheduled to occur on 10 Mar 2020. There being no other business, all members rose and repeated "Until we meet again..." The meeting was adjourned at 2107 hours.

Respectfully submitted, James E. Sly, Jr. Secretary Omaha Chapter

2020-2021 Officers: President, Ben Harvey; Vice-President, Paul Burright; Treasurer, John Parsons; Secretary, Jim Sly; Registrar, Paul Burright; Color Guard Captain, Paul Burright; Chapter Webmaster, Paul Burright; Immediate Past Chapter President – Tom Upton